FolkestoneJack's Tracks

Kyiv in slow motion

Posted in Kyiv, Ukraine by folkestonejack on February 23, 2008

After a week of almost constant travel it was good to arrive at the Hotel Ukraina for a post-tour city break. It felt like a real old fashioned Soviet hotel with a dezhurnaya behind a desk on each floor to keep an eye on whoever was coming and going. This was a practice I had heard about before I went to Russia a couple of years ago, but hadn’t actually seen until now.

I was pleased to find that I had a spacious room to relax in, though it did take a while to get used to a bed that was static and didn’t provide the occasional jolt. The view was quite stunning as well – it certainly made a change from pulling back the curtains in my compartment to see a petrochemical freight train rumbling past!

Hotel Ukraina

The view from my room in the Hotel Ukraina

I had a bit of time left in the day so spent some time wandering around Maidan Nezalezhnosti and checked out my emails at Optika internet cafe (after I figured out how to use the cyrillic keyboard!).

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

