FolkestoneJack's Tracks

China

Posted in China by folkestonejack on January 7, 2011

The lure of steam’s final stand in China has proved too much to resist and I’m heading back to see some of the places that I’ve never managed to reach so far – Jixi, Beipiao, Pingzhuang and Yuanbaoshan. As previously, I’ve booked my trip with FarRail having come to appreciate how superbly well Bernd Seiler runs his tours.

I am under no illusion that some of these places will be but a shadow of their former glory days, but I’m hoping that in itself will be interesting – to see these places in the final hour of steam. At least I have been telling myself that over the last few months, but maybe it’s just my own strategy for coping with the tidal wave of reports of the electrification at Jixi and the imminent dieselisation of other places. I guess I will find out soon enough!

Leave a Reply

