FolkestoneJack's Tracks

The spoil dump

Posted in China, Jixi by folkestonejack on January 10, 2011

The taxi took me and my luggage straight to a spoil dump (unusual I know) where I found the group leaping out of a minibus ready to photograph a SY class steam locomotive. I had arrived in the nick of time and with barely a moment to say my hellos I was standing trackside, camera in hand. The resulting shot will certainly never qualify as a masterpiece – but boy did it feel good after the last three days!

SY 1544 shunts back up to the spoil dump on 10th January 2011

SY 1544 shunts back up to the spoil dump on 10th January 2011

SY 1544 at the spoil dump in the last light of the day

SY 1544 at the spoil dump in the last light of the day

It wasn’t long before the sun set (relatively early, around about 3.30pm I think) and shortly afterwards we saw a banked coal train and another working to the spoil dump. It may well have been a short day (for me) but I was so pleased to have ended the day on such a good note after the less than promising beginning!

Leave a Reply

