FolkestoneJack's Tracks

Beijing to London

Posted in Beijing, China by folkestonejack on November 21, 2012

A short trip by metro to Dongzhimen and a smooth run on the airport-express train delivered me to the airport with minimal hassle. The view from the train had been a little worrying, with a dense fog hiding most of the landscape from sight, but thankfully things seemed a little better around the airport.

A glimpse of my ride home

A glimpse of my ride home

Once I had completed the usual formalities I found a quiet airside cafe and chilled out until it was time to board my flight home. Thankfully, there were no dramas this time and after a couple of good flights found myself back in at London City airport a little ahead of schedule. In fact, I was perfectly in time for the rush-hour – oh joy!

Looking back on the past ten days, I am relieved that a second trip to see Sandaoling was worthwhile and glad to have finally gotten around to spending sufficient time in Beijing to appreciate the city better (after all, this is the fourth time I have been to/through Beijing so it really was long overdue!). I don’t know whether I will be back, but if not this was a good note to end on.

Leave a Reply

