FolkestoneJack's Tracks

An encounter with the South Norwood bug

Posted in England, South Norwood by folkestonejack on August 15, 2014

I am a somewhat reluctant gardener at the best of times, but the perils of gardening in South Norwood had never really occurred to me until I got bitten by an insect in my back garden the other day, leaving me with a rather striking ring mark on an inflamed leg. The end result was a four night stay in hospital, taking antibiotics by intravenous drip.

The staff at the urgent care centre at Guy’s Hospital and the various medical teams I saw at St Thomas’ Hospital were simply marvellous throughout my stay, providing superb care and reassurance from start to finish. I don’t think I have ever really appreciated the wonders being performed by the doctors and nurses in the NHS, but this was a real eye opener for me.

I have no particular desire to make a return trip to hospital anytime soon, but will not forget the time I spent inside, nor the kindness of my fellow patients and the medical staff.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

