FolkestoneJack's Tracks

Sunset over the Tagus

Posted in Lisbon, Portugal by folkestonejack on March 14, 2015

I had planned to head out towards Belém to photograph the sunset but absolute gridlock appeared to have descended on Lisbon with the closure of the Avenida Infante Dom Henrique and the re-routing of road traffic into the city centre.

It was painful to watch my tram inching its way along the tracks, taking half an hour to make its way from the Praça Comércio to Cais Sodré rather than the couple of minutes that you would expect. I bailed out and made my way back to the riverside, which was bursting with life. The Cais das Colunas (Columns Pier) seemed to be a particular popular spot to gather and watch the sunset with a beer or two.

The Cais das Colunas at sunset

The Cais das Colunas at sunset

As the ‘golden hour’ began I set to work with my camera. I particularly liked the effect when I shot into the light, hopefully capturing the vibrancy of the scene with the impressive backdrop of the Ponte 25 de Abril. The ferries running back and forth between the two shores, watched over by the imposing statue of Christ the King, added a little variety. It was, in short, great fun trying to get the best out of the scene. Maybe it was just as well that I didn’t reach my original destination!

Gallery

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

